Change to Marriage License laws effective October 1, 2022:
- While only one party is required to apply for a marriage license, each party must provide a copy of an official government-issued birth certificate or other official government-issued document or record demonstrating their age.
- Minors under the age of 17 are no longer permitted to get married.
- An individual who is 17 years old may not marry unless:
- the individual has the consent of each living parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the minor person either in person or through an affidavit signed under the seal of a notary public; OR
- if the individual does not have the required consent, a certificate from a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or certified nurse practitioner that states the woman to be married has been examined by the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner and is found to be pregnant or has given birth to a child; AND
- the individual presents a certified copy of an order granting authorization to marry in accordance with the provisions of Title 5, Subtitle 2A of the Family Law Article not earlier than 15 days after the order was issued. To obtain an order granting authorization to marry, a minor who is 17 years old may file a petition in the Circuit Court in the county in which the minor resides, and an evidentiary hearing on the petition must be held to determine if an order of authorization to marry may be granted.
Read the Law: Md. Code, Family Law §5-2A-01, 5-2A-02, 5-2A-03, 5-2A-04
Telephone Number: 410-228-0480
Assistance in Spanish is available.
Maryland requires that a marriage license be obtained from the Circuit Court Clerk's Office in the county where the marriage is to take place.
Marriage licenses can be obtained at the Clerk's Office located in the courthouse at 206 High Street in Cambridge. The application process takes about 15 minutes.
If you are not a resident of Dorchester County, AND it is not possible for you to visit the Clerk's Office, you may apply for a marriage license using a Non-Resident Application. Please contact this office for further instruction.
After application, the license is issued but does not become effective until 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar day. The license must be used within 6 months or the license will expire.
It is recommended that you contact the Circuit Court Clerk's Office in the county you plan to marry as each county has different fees. The requirements for Dorchester County are as follows:
- Only one of the parties needs to appear to apply for the marriage license.
- For information on valid marriages in Maryland please consult www.peoples-law.org.
- Both parties must be over 18 years of age. Forms of identification for each person:
driver's license, birth certificate or a passport. (Applicants 17 and younger are encouraged
to call prior to applying as there are additional requirements.)
- The fee is $35.00 - Cash, Check or Money Order
- Neither a blood test nor witnesses are required in Maryland.
The following Information is to be Provided For Both Parties
- Full Names
- State/Country of birth
- Social Security Numbers (mandatory). This information is required by State Law and will not be displayed on the marriage license.
- Relationship (if any)
- Marital Status
If Previously Married
- Divorced - the date and place of each judicial determination that ended any former marriage.
- Widowed - the date and place of each death that ended any former marriage.
- The application must be signed by the applicant(s) under oath indicating the truthfulness of the information under penalty of perjury.
Civil Ceremonies are performed at the Circuit Court for Dorchester County. The address is:
206 High Street, Cambridge, MD 21613.
Ceremonies are held BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.
The cost is $25.00 Cash, Check or Money Order - payable the day of the ceremony
Certified copies may be obtained from the Clerk's Office located at:
Dorchester County Circuit Court
206 High Street
Cambridge, MD 21613
You may request a certified copy by mail. Please include in your request:
- Date of Marriage
- Self addressed stamped envelope
- Check or Money Order
The cost for each certified copy is $5.50. The check or money order should be made payable to the Clerk, Circuit Court for Dorchester County.
For further information on obtaining a marriage license or civil ceremonies, please call 410-228-0480.