Change to Marriage License laws effective October 1, 2022:
- While only one party is required to apply for a marriage license, each party must provide a copy of an official government-issued birth certificate or other official government-issued document or record demonstrating their age.
- Minors under the age of 17 are no longer permitted to get married.
- An individual 17-year-olds may not marry unless:
- the individual has the consent of each living parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the minor person either in person or through an affidavit signed under the seal of a notary public; OR
- if the individual does not have the required consent, a certificate from a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or certified nurse practitioner that states the woman to be married has been examined by the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner and is found to be pregnant or has given birth to a child; AND
- the individual presents a certified copy of an order granting authorization to marry in accordance with the provisions of Title 5, Subtitle 2A of the Family Law Article not earlier than 15 days after the order was issued. To obtain an order granting authorization to marry, a minor who is 17 years old may file a petition in the Circuit Court in the county in which the minor resides, and an evidentiary hearing on the petition must be held to determine if an order of authorization to marry may be granted.
Read the Law: Md. Code, Family Law §5-2A-01, 5-2A-02, 5-2A-03, 5-2A-04
Self-Help Center Information - (Espanol)
Please call the department needed at the specified number listed below for assistance.
Civil: (301) 600-2969
Criminal: (301) 600-1932
Family/Child Support: (301) 600-1977
Jury Duty: (301) 600-1979
Juvenile: (301) 600-1968
Land Recording/Licensing: (301) 600-1965
Records Room: (301) 600-1957
Telephone “jury duty” scam
In this phone scam, the caller claims to work for a court, tells the person he or she has been charged with contempt for not reporting for jury duty, refers to a judge by name, and demands payment over the phone, typically with a pre-paid card.
This phone call is a scam
. If you get a call like this, hang up. Maryland courts do not
call citizens to get payment over the phone for a fine for missing jury duty.
You can check your status as a juror or report any suspicious jury duty telephone calls by contacting your Circuit Court jury office. Contact information for courts is available on the Maryland Judiciary website, www.mdcourts.gov
, and click on “Locate a Maryland Court
Rich in the tradition and history of Maryland, the Office of Clerk of the Circuit Court is one of the oldest public institutions in the state.
Welcome to the Frederick County Courthouse and the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court. The Clerk of the Court is a locally elected State official with the responsibilities established and regulated by the laws of Maryland and the Rules of the Court of Appeals of Maryland. Since 1658, the office of Clerk of Court has provided the citizens of Maryland with a variety of essential services. The revenue collected by the clerks for these services is distributed to city, county, and state governments.
Each year the Clerk's office files, processes and maintains civil, criminal and juvenile actions. The Clerk's office records land deeds, mortgages, plats, conveyances and other precious documents. The Clerk administers oaths of office to Notaries Public, County officials, Judges and Governor appointees. The Clerk also issues business and marriage licenses and performs civil marriage ceremonies.
As you can see, the Office of Clerk of the Circuit Court is a busy place. I'm very proud of my staff and the work we do, and hope the above facts acquaint you with the many services provided by the Clerk here in Frederick County.
Please browse through our links for more information. If my office can be of any service, please do not hesitate to contact us for assistance.