
 Divorce 3 (Mutual Consent Ground for Divorce) 
 

   

10/2023 

TIP45 

Starting October 1, 2023, Maryland law on divorce has changed. This tip sheet discusses one of the 
grounds for divorce called mutual consent. The law on mutual consent divorce did not change October 1, 
2023. This tip sheet is up to date with the law.  

Written Settlement Agreement 
 The court will grant an absolute divorce if you and your spouse both agree to the divorce and have 

signed a written settlement agreement that settles all matters between you, including alimony, marital 
property, and the care, custody, and support of minor children.  

 If your agreement provides for child support, attach a child support guidelines worksheet. If you and 
your spouse’s combined monthly income is $30,000 or less, use form CC-DR-030. If your combined 
monthly income is more than $30,000, use form CC-DR-031.  

 Include details on marital property, including the family home and car. Only certain property is 
considered “marital property” and subject to distribution in a divorce. Watch Part 5 in this series, How 
the Court Divides Jointly-Owned Belongings.  

 Your agreement must state whether or not one spouse will financially support the other spouse with 
alimony, or spousal support. Consider including information on health insurance benefits 

Where to Get Help 
 Before signing an agreement, you may want to speak with a lawyer to make sure you understand your 

rights. Consider hiring a lawyer, especially if your spouse has one.  
 Speak to a free lawyer at the Maryland Court Help Center. These lawyers can’t represent you in court, 

but they can give you brief advice. Call 410-260-1392.  
 Consider mediation. In mediation, a trained neutral person will sit down with you and your spouse to 

discuss the terms of an agreement. Mediation is confidential and voluntary, and it lets you and your 
spouse decide on a solution that works for both of you. 

 Once you have a signed agreement, file it with the court. The court will review the document and then 
schedule a hearing.  

Court Hearing 
 At least one spouse must appear at a hearing. The court will notify you of the hearing date. If 

something changes, you or your spouse may ask the court to set aside the Settlement Agreement to 
stop the divorce from proceeding. 

 At the hearing, the court will ask whether at least one spouse lives in Maryland. The court will also 
determine whether you or your spouse has asked to set aside your agreement.  
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