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This video covers the forms the court requires to open and process a divorce case. 

Complaint 

 Use the Complaint for Absolute Divorce, or form CC-DR-020, if you or your spouse can prove at least 

one legal reason, or grounds, for absolute divorce.  

 Use the Complaint for Limited Divorce, or form CC-DR-021, if you do not have grounds for absolute 

divorce, but want to ask the court for alimony, custody, child support, and use and possession of the 

family home or other property. 

  If you’re not certain about which type of divorce you want, watch Part 2 in this series, Determining a 

Legal Reason (or Grounds) for Divorce. 

Answer and Counter-Complaint 

 If you were served with a complaint for divorce, you must respond in writing by filing an Answer. In the 

Answer, you agree with or disagree with the written statements your spouse included in his or her 

divorce complaint. You may use form CC-DR050 to file your Answer. 

 You may also file a Counter-Complaint for Absolute Divorce (form CC-DR-020) or Counter-Complaint 

for Limited Divorce (form CC-DR-021) if you want the court to address issues different from what your 

spouse requested in his or her complaint.  

Other Forms 

 When you submit your complaint or Answer, you must also include a completed Civil Domestic Case 

Information Report, or form CC-DCM-001. If you or your spouse are asking the court to divide your 

marital property, you must complete a Joint Statement of the Parties Concerning Marital and Non-

Marital Property, or form CC-DR-033.  

 If you are asking for a divorce on the grounds of mutual consent, you must complete a marital 

settlement agreement. A self-help center lawyer, paralegal, or law librarian may be able to point you 

to a template for a settlement agreement.  

 At the end of your divorce hearing, submit a Division of Vital Statistics, Report of Absolute Divorce or 

Annulment of Marriage. This allows the court to mail to you a divorce decree or judgment. Get this 

form from a court clerk.  

Financial Forms and Fee Waiver Forms 

 Under certain circumstances, you must complete a Financial Statement, or form CC-DR-030. Use this 

form if your case includes provisions about child support, and you and your spouse have a combined 

monthly income of $15,000 or less.  
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 Use Financial Statement, form CC-DR-031, if your case addresses alimony, property distribution, or 

child support and your combined monthly income is more than $15,000.  

 If you cannot afford to pay the court filing fees, submit a Request for Waiver of Prepaid Costs, form CC-

DC-089. You may also want to watch the My Laws, My Courts, My Maryland video Can’t Afford Court 

Filing Fees?  

Self-Help Centers 

 You can speak to or chat live with lawyers at the Maryland Courts Self-Help Center on most weekdays 

from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. These lawyers cannot represent you in court, but they can give you brief 

advice on how to complete divorce forms. They may also help you determine which forms you must 

complete. Call at 410-260-1392. Or chat live at www.mdcourts.gov/selfhelp.  

 


