Circuit* Court for Charles County Resident** Judges 1790 -

Michael Jenifer Stone	1791 – 1802
William B. Stone	1845
Peter W. Crain	1847 – 1861
Frederick Stone	1881 - 1890
George C. Merrick	1896 - 1909
W. Mitchell Digges	1923 - 1934
Walter J. Mitchell	1934 - 1941
J. Dudley Digges	1949 – 1969
James C. Mitchell	1969 – 1975
George W. Bowling	1975 – 1995
Robert C. Nalley	1980
Richard J. Clark	1980 - 2002
Robert C. Nalley	1988 - 2013
Steven G. Chappelle	1995 - 2012
Christopher C. Henderson	1996 - 2008
Amy J. Bragunier	2002 - 2020
Helen I. Harrington	2009 - 2017
Jerome R. Spencer	2012 - 2014
Hayward J. West	2014 -
Thomas R. Simpson	2014 - 2017
William R. Greer, Jr.	2017 -
Donine Carrington Martin	2017 -
Patrick J. Devine	2018 - 2020
Makeba Gibbs	2020 -
Monise A. Brown	2022 -

*Chapter 33 of Acts of 1790 established county courts within judicial districts and provided that judicial officers would preside, in contrast to the earlier county court system in which multiple justices exercised executive as well as judicial functions. Until 1867, Charles County was consistently in the First District, which always included Prince George's, St. Mary's counties and usually Calvert. Article IV of the 1867 Constitution replaced the judicial districts with circuits and what had been called county courts were now circuit courts. Charles, Prince George's, St. Mary's and Calvert counties have always comprised the Seventh Circuit.

**A resident judge for each Seventh Circuit county was first required as of January 1, 1955 by an amendment to Article IV, Section 21, ratified in 1954.