IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER SETTING MAXIMUM TRANSCRIPTION COSTS IN MARYLAND COURTS

WHEREAS, Maryland Rule 16-505 grants to the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals broad authority with respect to regulations and standards relating to court reporting and transcription; and

WHEREAS, Maryland Rule 16-502(e) makes any regulations and standards adopted by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals pursuant to Maryland Rule 16-505 also applicable to the District Court of Maryland,

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Mary Ellen Barbera, Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals and administrative head of the Judicial Branch, pursuant to the authority conferred by Article IV, § 18 of the Maryland Constitution and Maryland Rule 16-505, do hereby order this 9th day of September 2021, that, effective immediately,

- (a) <u>Charges</u>. The regular page rate charges for producing transcripts shall not exceed the following rates:
 - (1) For the paper original of a transcript: \$3.00 per page.
 - (2) For the paper first copy: \$0.50 per page.
 - (3) For the paper second copy: \$0.25 per page.
 - (4) For the paper original of a transcript and an electronic copy: \$3.75 per page.

(b) Expedited Delivery.

- (1) The expedited delivery page rate charges for producing transcripts shall not exceed the following rates:
 - i. Twenty-one (21) day delivery: \$3.75 per page for the paper original transcript and \$0.50 per page for the first copy, which may be paper or an electronic copy.
 - ii. Fifteen (15) day delivery: \$4.50 per page for the paper original

transcript and \$0.50 per page for the first copy, which may be paper or an electronic copy.

- iii. Ten (10) day delivery: \$5.00 per page for the paper original transcript and \$0.50 per page for the first copy, which may be paper or an electronic copy.
- iv. Five (5) day delivery: \$6.00 per page for the paper original transcript and \$0.50 per page for the first copy, which may be paper or an electronic copy.
- v. Daily delivery by 9 AM next business day: \$7.00 per page for the paper original transcript and \$0.50 per page for the first copy, which may be paper or an electronic copy.
- vi. Same day delivery by 10 PM same day: \$8.00 per page for the paper original transcript and \$0.50 per page for the first copy, which may be paper or an electronic copy; and
- (2) Further, in the instance in which an order for an expedited transcript is delivered untimely, unless otherwise governed by an existing contract, the customer shall be charged the lower expedited rate consistent with the actual time of delivery, unless the customer determines to cancel the order for that transcript; and
- (c) These rates may be amended from time to time.

/s/ Mary Ellen Barbera
Mary Ellen Barbera
Chief Judge
Court of Appeals of Maryland

Filed: September 10, 2021

/s/ Suzanne C. Johnson Suzanne C. Johnson

Clerk

Court of Appeals of Maryland

Materials Act

Suzanne C. Johnson, Cl