# Victims of Crime Part 1: The Roles of Victims in Criminal Cases

Maryland law defines a victim of crime as someone who suffers physical, emotional, or financial harm as a result of a crime. This tip sheet includes information on filing criminal charges, your role in the criminal case, and your responsibilities as a victim.

### **Filing Criminal Charges**

- If you believe you have been the victim of a crime, the first step is to report it to the police. The police may investigate, make an arrest, or apply for charges. The police will often refer you to the District Court Commissioner to apply for charges on your own.
- An application for charges always goes to a **District Court Commissioner**, whether you or the police apply. A Commissioner is a judicial officer who has the legal authority to issue charging documents.



- To apply for charges, first, file what is called an **Application for Statement of Charges.** You or someone else with personal knowledge of the incident may file the application. The person who files must appear in person before a District Court Commissioner in the county in which the incident occurred. Commissioners are available 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Check mdcourts.gov/district/directories/commissionermap for information on your Commissioner's station.
- The Application for Statement of Charges should include:
  - A statement that describes the incident in detail.
  - Where and when the incident occurred.
  - A list of any injuries, damages, or losses.
  - An explanation of why you believe a particular person or group of people are responsible for the crime.
- The Commissioner will review the statement and determine if there is **probable cause** to issue charges. Probable cause refers to having a reasonable basis to suspect someone of committing a crime.
- If the Commissioner finds there is probable cause, they will file a charging document. If they find there is no probable cause, they will deny the statement of charges.
- If a charging document is issued, the person you believe is responsible for the crime will either receive a summons to come to court or will be arrested.

### Your Role in the Case as a Victim

After a charging document is issued, the case may go to trial. There are two parties to the court case: the State and the defendant. The defendant is the person accused of the crime.



## Maryland Court Help

Free. Online. In Person. By Phone.

- The **State's Attorney** is the lawyer who represents the State of Maryland. They will review the case and decide whether to pursue that case or not.
- As a victim, you are not a party to the case. You do, though, have rights and obligations. For more information on your rights, see Tip Sheet 73 Victims Part 2.

### Your Responsibilities as a Victim

- You may be called to appear at trial as a witness. The State's Attorney's Office may issue a subpoena requiring you to appear in court to testify. A subpoena may also require you to bring certain documents to trial. If you receive a subpoena, don't ignore it or you could face penalties.
- If you received a subpoena and do not want to appear in court, talk to a lawyer. For more information on resources for victims of crime see below and Tip Sheet 73 Victims Part 2.

#### Resources

- Find the location of Commissioners' offices on the Maryland Courts website. Visit mdcourts.gov/district/directories/commissionermap.
- The Maryland Crime Victims' Resource Center can provide some legal support and advocacy for victims of crime. Visit <u>https://www.mdcrimevictims.org/</u> or call 301-952-0063.
- The Maryland State Board of Victim Services offers brochures and forms on the rights of crime victims in Maryland. Visit goccp.maryland.gov/victim-services/rights-resources/brochures-forms/.
- The State's Attorney's Office has resources for victims of crime. Contact your local State's Attorney's Office.
- You can also find lawyers by using the Lawyer Referral Information by county. Visit <u>msba.org/for-the-public/lawyer-referral-information/</u>.
- The Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Sexual Assault Legal Institute (SALI) provides legal services for survivors of sexual violence across the state. Call 301-565-2277 or 877-496-SALI, or visit mcasa.org/survivors/sali.
- House of Ruth Maryland provides free lawyers for victims of intimate partner violence and hosts information for victims of crime online. Visit <u>hruth.org</u> or call 410-889-7884.
- For questions about civil cases, you can contact the Maryland Court Help Center. Find more information at mdcourts.gov/helpcenter. Call 410-260-1392 to speak to a lawyer for free. Help Center lawyers can only assist if you do not currently have an attorney for the civil case.





### Free. Online. In Person. By Phone.

April 2024

Page 2