
EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
Tuition Reimbursement 

HUNDREDS of qualified employees have 
improved their professional skills with help 
from the Maryland Judiciary’s educational 
assistance/tuition reimbursement 
program. Here’s how to get started.

The program
Educational assistance is offered 
for courses that are required for a 
college degree or to obtain or maintain 
professional certification required by the 
Judiciary. For reimbursement, a grade 
of “C” or better for under-graduate class 
or a grade of “B” or better for graduate 
classes must be attained. Besides the 
cost of tuition, reimbursement may also 
include required textbooks and related 
fees. Tuition reimbursement is offered 
each fiscal year (July 1-June 30) up to a 
maximum of $2,500.

Who qualifies
“Regular” employees — people who have a 
position that is funded under an approved 
budget with an assigned PIN (Position 
Identification Number) — who

•	 have completed the initial six-month 
probationary period AND

•	 are maintaining the “meets standards” 
level of job performance

How to get ready
•	 Read the Policy on Educational 

Assistance, which is available on 
CourtNET: http://courtnet/profdev/
index.html

•	 Discuss your plans with your 
supervisor. He or she will have 
to approve your application for 
educational assistance and send it to 
the Judicial College of Maryland for 
review and approval.

How to apply
1.	 Fill out the Application for Educational 

Assistance form.

2.	 Attach a copy of the course description.

3.	 Have the application form and the course 
description signed and dated by your 
supervisor, and send these documents 
to Carol Braswell in the Judicial College of 
Maryland. She must receive them at least 
15 days before the class’s scheduled start 
date. You may email these documents to  
Carol.Braswell@mdcourts.gov or fax them 
to 410-260-3612. 

4.	 If your application is 
approved, you will receive 
a signed and approved 
letter from the Judicial 
College of Maryland for  
your records.

tuition

http://courtnet.courts.state.md.us/profdev/index.html


How to get reimbursement
1.	 Complete your course successfully 

with a grade of “C” or better for under-
graduate; or a grade of “B” or better for 
graduate classes.

2.	 Fill out the Tuition Reimbursement 
Request form.

3.	 Complete the calculations worksheet, 
which can be downloaded from the 
website.

4.	 Collect all original receipts for 
reimbursable costs. (Make copies for 
your records.)

5.	 Attach a copy of your signed and 
approved Educational Assistance form.

6.	 Attach a copy of your course grade.

Submit to the Judicial College of Maryland 
within 30 days to Carol Braswell.
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Other things to know
•	 This is an educational assistance program, 

which means that you apply for assistance 
before you take your course, pay your tuition 
and fees up front, and get reimbursed after 
you complete your course with a passing 
grade as noted above.

•	 You must be employed by the Judiciary when 
you complete your course to be eligible for 
tuition reimbursement.

•	 You must continue employment with 
the Judiciary for at least 12 months after 
completing your course. 

•	 You should keep copies of your forms, 
receipts, and other important documents.

How to contact us

Mail
Judicial College of Maryland
2011-D Commerce Park Drive
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone/email
Carol Braswell, 410-260-3654
carol.braswell@mdcourts.gov

Website
http://courtnet/profdev/index.html
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