This brochure is about expunging
juvenile records about you from

Maryland state court records only.

Who uses expungement?

Defendants in state criminal cases or
individuals with a state juvenile record. This
brochure provides information on expunging
juvenile records only.

A juvenile record is a court record and

police record concerning a child alleged

or adjudicated delinquent or in need of
supervision, or who has received a citation for
a violation.

If you want to expunge adult criminal records,
see the brochure: Expungement of Criminal
Records as that procedure is different.

Expungement of |
- Juvenile Records

How do I file for
expungement?

File a “Petition for Expungement of

Records” with the court that heard

your case, in person or by mail.

The court will then send a copy of your
petition to the victims in your case, -
certain family members of the victim
and the state’s attorney.

The court may or may not schedule a
hearing. If no one files an objection, the
court may grant your request without

a hearing. If you did not meet the
requirements of the law, the court may
deny your petition without a hearing.

If your petition for expungement is
denied, you can appeal the court’s
decision.
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| have a juvenile record. Can I file for expungement?
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You are 18 or older and at least 2 years have passed since the last official action
in your juvenile record;

You have not been adjudicated delinquent more than once;
You have not been convicted of any offense since your juvenile case;

You do not have a pending delinquency petition or criminal charge;

. You have not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense that, if committed by an adult, would be

a felony, a crime of violence, or a fourth degree sexual offense;
You were not required to register as a sex offender;

The offense you were adjudicated delinquent for did not involve the use of a firearm in the
commission of a crime of violence;

You have fully paid any monetary restitution ordered by the court in your delinquency case; AND

You meet one of the following:
a. The State’s Attorney entered a nolle prosequi;
b. The petition was dismissed;
c. The court, i'n an adjudicatory hearing, did not find the allegations in the petition to be true;
d. The adjudicatory hearing was not held within 2 years after the petition was filed; or

e. The court, in a disposition hearing, either found that you required guidance, treatment or
rehabilitation, or did not find that you required guidance, treatment or rehabilitation.

The court will also consider:

www.mdcourts.gov/mdatjc
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Your best interests;
Your stability in the community;

The safety of the public.

For more information
See ‘|V|D. CODE, COURTS AND JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS § 3—8A—27.1.

Court forms are available on the Maryland Judiciary’s website at -
www.mdcourts.gov/courtforms.

Read Maryland’s laws at www.mdcourts.gov/lawlib/researchtools/

ACCESS TO sourcesmdlaw.html.

JUSTICE

COMMISSION Visit the Maryland Judiciary, Department of Family Administration

website at www.mdcourts.gov/family/index.html.

Visit the People’s Law Library of Maryland, an online legal resource,
at www.peoples-law.org.

410.260.1258 Visit any public law library in person. Call 410.260.1430 or find out
more online at www.mdcourts.gov/lawlib.

Visit or call the Clerk’s Office of the court that heard your case.

This brochure was created by the Maryland Access to Justice Commission with the
help of the Maryland Judiciary’s Office of Communications and Public Affairs  10/14.
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