THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL'S LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE

PURPOSE

The Legislative Committee will protect and promote the Judiciary's interests regarding new laws and initiatives. It will defend and/or advance the Judiciary's interests by determining and implementing the most effective strategy for doing so given the political climate and other factors impacting the current landscape. The Committee members rely on collective institutional knowledge, history, and political experience.

SCOPE OF ACTIVITY

The Legislative Committee will review and analyze legal and policy implications and how they affect the Judiciary. It also will serve as a clearinghouse for all legislation, advise the Chief Judges and Judicial Council on legislative issues, review pending legislation, and formulate a single, unified position for the Judiciary. The Committee reviews internally generated requests for new legislation and makes recommendations to the Judicial Council. The Committee will report on its initiatives and other activities, at least annually, to the Judicial Council.

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Daniel M. Long, Chair

NAME TERM

Hon. Alexandra Williams, Vice Chair, District Court, Baltimore County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. John P. Morrissey, Chief Judge, District Court	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Tiffany Anderson, District Court, Prince George's County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. W. Timothy Finan, Circuit Court, Allegany County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Michael J. Finifter, Circuit Court of Baltimore County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. J. Barry Hughes, Circuit Court, Carroll County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Andrea M. Leahy, Court of Special Appeals	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Stacy Mayer, District Court, Baltimore County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Timothy D. Murphy, District Court, Baltimore City	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Thomas G. Ross, Circuit Court, Queen Anne's County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Michael J. Stamm, Circuit Court, St. Mary's County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Patrick L. Woodward, Court of Special Appeals	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017

Suzanne Pelz, Staff

SUBCOMMITTEES

NAME: CRIMINAL LAW SUBCOMMITTEE

NATURE AND PURPOSE

To review legislation pertaining to criminal law during the legislative session and make recommendations to the full committee.

MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Gary E. Bair, Chair

NAME

Hon. Charles J. Peters Hon. John P. Rue, II Hon. Dana Moylan Wright

TERM

January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016 January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016 January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016

ANTICIPATED WORK PRODUCT

To review legislation pertaining to criminal law during the legislative session and make recommendations to the full committee

EXPECTED DURATION

Ninety Days (January to April)

NAME: CIVIL LAW SUBCOMMITTEE

NATURE AND PURPOSE

To review legislation pertaining to civil law during the legislative session and make recommendations to the full Committee.

MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Douglas R. M. Nazarian, Chair

NAME

Hon. Robin D. Gill Bright

Hon. Leo E. Green, Jr.

January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016

January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016

Hon. Julie R. Rubin

January 1, 2106 – December 31, 2016

ANTICIPATED WORK PRODUCT

To review legislation pertaining to civil law during the legislative session and make recommendations to the full Committee.

EXPECTED DURATION

Ninety Days (January to April)