THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL'S ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION COMMITTEE

PURPOSE

The Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee will promote the use of appropriate dispute resolution processes throughout the courts. It will provide an avenue for courts to vet changes to their alternative dispute resolution rules and standards of conduct.

SCOPE OF ACTIVITY

NIANTEC

The Committee will review and make recommendations to alternative dispute resolution rules. It will monitor pending legislation that potentially could impact alternative dispute resolution programs and services. The Committee will respond to legislative inquiries in coordination with the Office of Government Relations. It will oversee the development and implementation of alternative dispute resolution programs and processes in the courts. The Committee also will oversee revisions to the standards of conduct for mediators, as well as other publications that govern alternative dispute resolution in the courts. The Committee will report on its initiatives and other activities, at least annually, to the Judicial Council.

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Thomas G. Ross, Chair

TEDME

NAMES	LEKMS
Hon. Nathan Braverman, District Court, Baltimore City	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2017
Magistrate Elizabeth Case, Circuit Court Howard County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Mimi Cooper, District Court, Baltimore City	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. H. Richard Duden, District Court, Anne Arundel County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. James R. Eyler, Retired	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Ruth A. Jakubowski, Circuit Court, Baltimore County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Melvin J. Jews, District Court, Dorchester County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Peter Krauser, Court of Special Appeals	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. William R. Nicklas, Jr., Circuit Court, Frederick County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Julie R. Rubin, Circuit Court, Baltimore City	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Timothy Sheridan, Circuit Court Administrator, Baltimore	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
County	•
Hon. Dorothy J. Wilson, District Court, Baltimore County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Alexander Wright, Jr., Court of Special Appeals	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016

SUBCOMMITTEES

NAME: DISTRICT COURT ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION SUBCOMMITTEE

NATURE AND PURPOSE

The subcommittee would assist and advise the Chief Judge of the District Court and the ADR Committee with respect to the District Court ADR Department and its programs and serve as a District Court liaison the broader ADR community.

MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Zuberi Williams, chair

NAME	TERM
Hon. Wayne Brooks, District Court, Howard County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Christy Chesser, District Court, St. Mary's County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. James Green, District Court, Baltimore City	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Stephan Moylan, District Court, Garrett County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Sara Snyder, District Court Administrative Clerk, Frederick	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
County	
Hon. Bruce Wade, District Court, Wicomico County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Andrea Watkins, District Court, Charles County	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016

WORK PRODUCT

Continued assistance by the ADR Committee and the District Court Resolution Subcommittee to the Chief Judge of the District Court and the District Court ADR Department and its programs and serve as a District Court liaison the broader ADR community.

EXPECTED DURATION

Indefinite; meeting quarterly.

NAME: RESEARCH AND GRANTS SUBCOMMITTEE

NATURE AND PURPOSE

The Research and Grants Subcommittee of the Judicial Council Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Committee will: (1) monitor ADR research that is conducted by, or on behalf of, the Maryland Judiciary; (2) assist in disseminating information about that research within the Judiciary and to its justice partners; (3) receive and review published research produced by external researchers in the ADR field; (4) make recommendations about additional ADR research that may be beneficial to the courts; (5) make programmatic recommendations based on research findings; and (6) receive and review information about ADR-related grants received by, or awarded by, the Maryland Judiciary.

MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Thomas G. Ross, Chair

NAME	TERM
Magistrate Elizabeth Case, Circuit Court, Howard County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Mimi Cooper, District Court, Harford County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. James R. Eyler, Retired, Court of Special Appeals	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Timothy Sheridan, Circuit Court Administrator, Baltimore County	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Jamie Walter, Director of Court Operations, Administrative	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Office of the Courts	