Maryland Courts

Land Records Department
Recording Fees

E-Recording Now Available

Learn more/Register as a submitter


Updated 2/14/2014



RELEASE nine (9) pages or less in length. $10.00
Any instrument nine (9) pages or less in length or for any instrument over nine (9) pages in length if it involves solely a principal residence. It must be stated in the body of the instrument. (Do not count the intake sheet.) This includes Termination Statements of UCC Filings in Land Records and Financing Statements. $20.00
ANY INSTRUMENT ten (10) pages or more in length. $75.00
Request For Notice Of Sale $15.00
Plats (We require 2 Mylar copies to be recorded) Total $5.00. No surcharge. We only record lot line plats/lot line revisions/subdivisions. We do not record sewage reserve; wetlands; easements, etc. $2.50

Recording Fee is based on the number of pages in the instrument, as listed above.

Recordation Tax
NewNotice Regarding Collection of Recordation Tax in Talbot County - Effective February 15, 2014, the Talbot County Finance Office will collect the Talbot County Recordation Tax. Read more.


Effective July 1, 2011, Recordation Tax has increased.

  • $0.01 to $500.00 = $6.00
  • $500.01 to $1,000.00 = $12.00 per thousand

ALL INSTRUMENTS PRESENTED for recording on July 1, 2011 and after WILL BE CHARGED the new rate.

Note: When submitting a Deed of Trust which is being refinanced, the refinance language must be on one of the numbered pages before the signature page or, if on a separate page, it must be signed and notarized.

County Transfer Tax

1% of the Purchase Price ($50,000 exemption if owner-occupied. This must be a signed affidavit included in the deed.)

State Transfer Tax

1/2 of 1% of the Purchase Price or .25% of the purchase price for Maryland First Time Home Buyer purchasing a principal place of residence. This must be a signed affidavit included in the Deed. For Information regarding Maryland First Time Home Buyer see Tax Property 13-203(b) in the Annotated Code of Maryland.

Surcharge For Land Records

As of July 1, 2011, the Surcharge fee for ALL INSTRUMENTS is $40.00. Exceptions: There is no Surcharge to record a Notice of Sale, Power of Attorney, Plats & Documents filed in Homeowner's Association Docket.

Please note that Recording Fees, Surcharge, County and State Transfer Taxes are collected by the Clerk's Office. Checks submitted are to be made payable to Circuit Court Clerk.

Effective February 15, 2014, Recordation Tax is collected by the Talbot County Finance Office. Refer to Recordation Tax for Instructions.

Please be advised that the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court is prohibited by law from rendering legal advice and from performing title searches.