RECORDING FEES AND TAXES
Costs, Fees & Charges
Payment in advance - no refunds - except as expressly
otherwise provided in the schedule, or by statute or rule, the
prescribed costs, fees, or charges shall be collected by this
office before we record the instrument, perform the service, or
deliver the document for which the costs, fee, or charge is to
be collected. A cost, fee, or charge is not refundable.
Recording & License Division
Land Records, Financing Statements
Pursuant to Chapter 642 (HB 1179), the following
fee schedule for recording financing & land instruments are
$10.00 For a release nine (9) pages or less in
$20.00 For a termination of a financing statement
nine (9) pages or less in length;
$20.00 For any other instrument nine (9) pages
or less in length or it involves SOLELY a principal residence;
$75.00 For any other instrument ten (10) pages
or more in length.
$40.00 For all recordable instruments in land except:
Power of attorney, notice of sale, plats, financing
statements to be recorded in financing only.
Recordation & Transfer Taxes
In the case of instruments conveying title to property,
the recordation tax shall be at the rate of $8.20 PER $1,000 rounded
UP TO THE NEAREST $500, of the actual consideration paid or to
be paid, in the case of instruments securing a debt, the tax shall
be on the amount of the debt secured. These fees are to be paid at the Cecil County Treasurer's Office.
Transfer tax is at the rate of .5 percent of the
actual consideration, unless they are a first-time Maryland home
buyer purchasing a principal place of residence, in that case
the transfer tax rate is .25 percent of the actual consideration.
To qualify for this exemption, each grantee must provide a statement
under oath signed by the grantee or grantees stating that the
grantee or grantees is a first-time Maryland home buyer who will
occupy the residence as a principal residence or is a co-maker
or guarantor of the purchase money mortgage/deed of trust who
will not occupy the residence as a principal residence.
Federal Tax Liens, Releases or Waivers
Plats - Subdivisions
Minor Subdivisions - $10.00
Major Subdivisions - $5.00
Request for Notice of Sale (Foreclosure)
Notary Qualification Certificate
ON ALL INSTRUMENTS, PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT ON THE
FRONT OF THE LAST PAGE TO BE RECORDED THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF
WHOM THE INSTRUMENT IS TO BE RETURNED TO.
According to Maryland Law under real property Article
TP 12-108 (G)(3) provides as follows:
To qualify for an exemption under paragraph (2)
of this section an original mortgagor shall include a statement
in the recital or in the acknowledgment of the mortgage or deed
of trust, an affidavit under oath, signed by the original mortgagor,
1. That the individual is the original mortgagor,
2. That the mortgaged property is the principal residence of the
original mortgagor, and
3. The amount of unpaid principal of the original mortgage or
deed of trust that is being refinanced.
This means that the original mortgagor only has
to pay on the difference of the principal payoff and the new mortgage.
EXAMPLE: Original mortgage was for $100,000.00
and the principle payoff is now $79,000.00. The new mortgage is
$150,000.00 - $79,000.00 leaves a difference of
Therefore, the taxed amount on the refinance is
IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CALL OUR LAND RECORDS OFFICE