The Out-of-State Attorneys’ Examination Filing Deadlines, Fees, Dates, and Exam Sites
FEBRUARY 2014

The Out-of-State Attorneys’ Examination will be offered on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
at the Judicial Education and Conference Center (“JECC”), Training Rooms 5-10, 2011-D
Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401. The filing deadline is Friday, December 27,
2013 for the February 2014 examination.

JULY 2014

The Out-of-State Attorneys’ Examination will be offered on Tuesday, July 29, 2014 at the
Judicial Education and Conference Center (“JECC”), Training Rooms 5-10, 2011-D Commerce
Park Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401. The filing deadline is Friday, May 30, 2014 for the July
2014 examination.

The Attorney application consists of two parts which must be filed together:

1. The Petition of Out-of-State Attorney for Admission to the Maryland Bar includes an
affirmation that the candidate meets the eligibility standards of Maryland Bar Admission Rule 13
and requires certification of the candidate’s professional experience by one judge or two attorneys
familiar with the candidate’s professional history. The Petitioner must file a current (within six
months) Certificate of Standing from the highest Court of each jurisdiction where the Petitioner is
admitted. The Petition must be accompanied by a check or money order in the amount of $700
payable to the State Board of Law Examiners.

2. The Character Questionnaire of the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE)
requires disclosure of information regarding the candidate’s personal history which serves as the
basis for an investigation of educational and professional credentials and the preparation of a
character report for use by the Maryland State Board of Law Examiners. The completed NCBE
Character Questionnaire must be accompanied by a check or money order or credit card
authorization in the amount of $375 payable to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.



